Getting closer!

Today I  started my day by attending my first district-wide Leadership Council Meeting.  This is exactly what I was waiting for as I prepare for the start of my first school year as the principal of HWRHS.  While a 3.5 hour meeting may not sound very exciting, I was able to gain some solid connections to the systems that are in place across the district.

Meeting organization is always important to me. What I found useful was that the meeting was designed around the four standards of Professional Teaching Practice that is the cornerstone of the state evaluation model. I think I will use the same idea for my agendas.

Now I have to sift through and organize many piles of interesting and useful information so that I can stay on top of it all as we move forward. One interesting thing is the addition of over 30 dates in my calendar for events and activities that include school committee meetings, data training, walk throughs, Master Plan activities and most importantly, budget timelines.

All in all, I’m excited for school to begin and to travel towards working with the staff, students, parents and the community to develop a high quality school! Nine days to go!

