This is why I love my job…

After school, I ran a quick meeting with our activity advisers to help them to understand the processes we use for collecting & storing money, procuring buses, custodians and police details.  When I returned to my office, 20-30 students were in the lobby chattering, singing, and rehearsing while a very noticeable nervous energy permeated the air.  Within seconds, I remembered I was standing in the middle of the waiting area for the musical tryouts.  Now I truly know what it’s like to wait for your turn to audition for American Idol. Stress was high!

The best part was soon to come.  I was in my office working on a different blog post when a student came in and asked if I wanted to see what she was going to perform.  With little hesitation, she flipped a chair around to use as a podium and transformed into a very young girl making a plea to save her favorite ice cream from the parents.  It would be an understatement to say she became the character…she was awesome.  Within a minute or two, her friend also came into the office to perform her monologue as well.  Again, I was witness to another transformation that was dead on.  Impressive to say the least!

These are the moments that remind me why I do what I do.  These are the moments that bring education to light.  These are the moments that make me love my job!

 

