Ahhh the college essay…

Tonight I find myself in the position of the anxious parent trying to coax my daughter to write her college essay.  Amazingly, as I “creep” on a shared Google Doc, she begins to write a beautiful essay about how photography takes her to another place…I watch patiently on my phone as each letter lights up my screen.

The prompt: “Describe a place or environment where you are perfectly content. What do you do or experience there, and why is it meaningful to you?”

I try to encourage her and to keep her on track as she works to bring the pictures in her mind to print.  She knows I can see every letter she types.  She stops, starts, loses confidence and starts to write again.  She truly begins to sense the environment as she snaps that perfect picture.  She feels what she writes.

As my stress levels begin to lower, I can see hers rise as she wonders how to end the essay.  I encourage her to stop, take a break and start again tomorrow or the next day. She breathes a sigh of relief.

All in all, it has been a productive night.  A night where we wonder what the person reading the essay will think when they feel what my daughter feels when she sinks into the world of her photography…safe, content, focused.

